Skip to main navigation.


Lacreek Electric, in conjunction with Basin Electric Power Cooperative and Rushmore Electric, offers its members a chance to receive up to 4 $1,000 scholarships Applicants must have at least a grade point average of 2.5 and they must be entering their first year of continuing education. They also must be dependants of Lacreek Members.


In round one of the competition, all applicants will be judged on goals, work experience, school activities, community involvement and grade point average. The winner of round one will win the $1,000 scholarship sponsored jointly by Lacreek Electric and Basin Electric. The second place winner will be judged with other applicants in western South Dakota for a chance to win a $1,000 scholarship sponsored jointly by Rushmore Electric and Lacreek Electric. If this applicant does not win they will be eligible to compete in round two competition. Round two competition is simply a drawing held at Lacreek Electric. Two applicants will each receive $1,000 scholarships sponsored by Lacreek Electric.

In 2017, an additional scholarship was added for second year college students who submitted a scholarship application their Senior year in high school and did not get selected as a recepient.  The second year college or technial student's grade point average must be at least a 2.5, must be entering their second year of continuing education and applicant must be a member or the depdent of a member of Lacreek Electric Association, Inc., and a citizen of the Untied States.

Lacreek Electric wants to recognize and encourage the academic achievements of the students in rural areas. The scholarships serve as an investment in the rural areas. It also serves as an investment in the economic future of our area.

The Scholarship may be used at an accredited college, university, or technical school. Call for further information.

(Applications must be mailed or turned in by February 21st, 2020) 

Mail Applications to: Lacreek Electric Association, P.O. Box 220, Martin, SD 57551

2019 Winners

$1000 Scholarship - Cameron Good



$1,000 Scholarship - Jessica Begeman



$1,000 Scholarship - Erica Bakley



$1,000 Scholarship - Tee Allen


In 2017, Lacreek added an additional $1,000 scholarship for a 2nd year college student who did not receive a Lacreek scholarship the previous year.

Last years "2018" winner was Shane Boomer


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo