Skip to main navigation.


Director meetings are held on the third Tuesday after the first Monday each month.

Download Petition for Nomination

President of the Board  

Tom Schlack (Karen)

Zone 7 – Cherry Co., NE

Tom has served 30 years on Lacreek’s board. He is a graduate of Bennett County High School and of the University of South Dakota. Tom also worked for Lacreek Electric as a journey lineman for seven years. He has ranched in the Eli area for the past 31 years.







Vice-President of the Board  

Jerry Sharp (Stephanie)

Zone 5 – Jackson Co.

Jerry has served on Lacreek’s board for 23 years. He graduated from Kadoka High School and continued his education at Black Hills State University in Spearfish. He taught school for three years and then returned to ranch near Longvalley, SD. Jerry is active in the South Dakota Rodeo Association, a member of R-Calf, a member of SD Stock growers and a Director for the Western Jr. Livestock Show.


Treasurer of the Board 

Clarence Allen 

Zone 1 – City of Martin

Clarence was raised northeast of Long Valley, S.D. He came to Bennett County in 1972 and began farming and ranching. Clarence worked for Mueller Feeds and Pride Grain for 23 years while still farming and ranching. He retired from Pride Grain in June of 2012. Clarence still runs cattle and helps others in the area. Clarence and wife Nancy, have four grown children. Clarence has been on the Lacreek Electric Board since 2014.


Secretary of the Board 

Troy Kuxhaus (Amie)

Zone 3, West Bennett

He has been a lifelong resident of Bennett County. He was born in 1969, graduated high school at Bennett County in 1987, graduated from Western Dakota Tech in 1989 as a Certified Welder. In 1990, he married Amie also a local resident and they have two children, (Keven and Colin). They reside on the family farm west of Martin that he owns and operates. He is the third generation Kuxhaus to run the family farm. He served on the FSA board for nine years. He is a member of the Batesland Volunteer Fire Department. Hobbies include friends, and family ventures of hunting, fishing and vacations.



Marion Schultz (Dawn)

Zone 4 – East Oglala Lakota Co.

Marion has served as a director for 18 years.  He graduated from Gordon High School and received a degree in Economics and Political Science at South Dakota State University.  He has ranched in the Batesland area all of his life.  Marion has been on the Batesland Fire Department for more than 50 years.  He has been on the County Committee for USDA for 13 years and has also served on the Bennett County Co-op.



Ellis Rae Hicks (Dorothy)

Zone 1 – City of Martin

Ellis Rae graduated from Bennett County High School and spent three-and a-half years in the Air Force. He has farmed and ranched since returning from the Air Force. He and his wife, Dorothy, operated a clothing business from 1962 to 1996. They have one son, Scott, a daughter-in-law, Anita, four grandchildren and three great grand-children.  Ellis Rae has served on Lacreek's board of directors for 27 years.  He has been a continuous member of the American Legion Post 240 for 56 years and he has served as post commander and also as post adjutant.  He has served on the Martin City Council at various times, a total of 14 years, and as mayor for part of one term. He was a member of the Martin Volunteer Fire Department for nineteen years.  He is a member of Our Redeemers Lutheran Church in Martin.

Donovan Young Man (Dale)

Zone 9 – West Oglala Lakota Co.

Donovan has served as a director for 24 years.  He is a graduate of Pine Ridge High School.  He also served on the Oglala Sioux Tribal Council from 1992-1996.  Donovan has worked for the Oglala Lakota County School District for 37 years and also raises cattle on his ranch east of Oglala.



 Dean O’ Neill (Judy)

Zone 6 – Todd & Mellette Co.

Dean has ranched and farmed in the Harrington and Parmelee areas his entire life. He was born and raised in Todd County. Dean graduated from Bennett County High School and attended South Dakota State University and received an associate’s degree in ag mechanics and economics. He attended helicopter school at Fort Rucker AL, during his military service. He served as Todd County Commissioner for ten years and was on the Mission/White River/Winner coop boards for ten years. He is a lifetime member of the American Legion Post No.319. He has been a board member for Lacreek Electric for the past 30 years. He has been involved in community service for the past 49 years. He and his wife, Judy, have four children. 


Melvin Cummings (Ruth Ann)

Zone 9 – West Oglala Lakota Co.

Melvin has been a member of Lacreek’s board for 35 years. He has served for 15 years as an Oglala Sioux Tribal Councilman. He also served as Treasurer for the Oglala Sioux Tribe for two years. He has served on the Oglala Lakota County School board for 34 years. Melvin has been ranching between Manderson and Wounded Knee for 56 years.




Wade Risse (Bonnie)

Zone 8 – At Large

Wade graduated from Bennett County High School in 1986. In 1994, he married his wife Bonnie, and now they have three daughters and one son who all attend Bennett County Schools. He ranches and raises angus cattle in the Risse Half Box V family ranch operation. He has served on the Bennett County Fair Board and St. Martin's Knights of Columbus Council for a number of years.

Connie Whirlwind Horse

Zone 4 – East Oglala Lakota Co.

Connie attended school at Holy Rosary Mission (now Red Cloud) and then attended one year of college at Black Hills State. She and her late husband, Louis, ranched near Kyle for many years. She is the mother of nine children and continues to run the ranch. She has served on the Oglala Lakota County Commission and works on the Medicine Root District Empowerment Zone Taskforce and is also currently serving on the Pejuta Huta Oyanke Development Corporation Board.  Connie has served on Lacreek's board for 22 years.

Brent Ireland (Tauna)

Zone 2 - East Bennett County

Brent was raised in Martin and is a graduate of Bennett County High School. He earned a mechanical engineering degree from Brigham Young University. He spent nine years in the oil, gas and petrochemical industries (mostly in Texas) before returning to Martin to the farm/ranch he grew up on. For the past 12-years he has served on the Board of Directors of the Dakota Lakes Research Farm in Pierre. He and his wife, Tauna. have four children. Since returning to Martin he has been involved with area youth athletics (flag football, baseball, wrestling) and is currently coaching wrestling at Bennett County High School. Brent has served on Lacreek's board for 3-years.



Neal Livermont (Dana)

Zone 5 - Jackson County

Neal is the son of Butch and Judy Livermont. He grew up on, and continues to operate, the Livermont Ranch southeast of Interior. Neal is married to Dana and together they share four daughters. Neal was a member of the band Country Rush for 20 years before retiring in 2014. He currently serves on the board of the Jackson County FSA, and the Oglala Lakota Livestock and Land Owner Association and the Interior Roping Club.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo